A.G.M. Report 2017

20th January, 2017

Drumcullen GAA Club held its annual general meeting in the clubhouse on Friday 20th January 2017. The meeting was well attended and Chairman Toni Ryan welcomed and thanked all present for their attendance, he then introduced Liam Hogan who gave a presentation on the Offaly Hurling Pathway, where he went through what was in the report, what they hoped to achieve and how they planned to achieve their aims. He emphasised the need for good structures to be in place at a very young age, the need for coaches to be qualified, the need to bring all children along and the necessity of strong links between clubs and the local school. He praised the Drumcullen Club for the work they have done in these areas. After the presentation he took questions and opinions from those present.

The Minutes of the last AGM were proposed and seconded, the Secretary’s Report was proposed and seconded. Peter Lyons then presented his Treasurer’s Report and answered some questions before his report was proposed and seconded. The Chairman then gave his address in which he thanked all teams that represented the club, the management teams and the parents. He thanked the fundraising committee, all those involved with the Kings of September with a special word of thanks to Joe Troy and Ann Marie Guinan, Rath Drama Group for donating the proceeds of the extra night they ran of their show. He told the outgoing committee that he appreciated all of their efforts during the year.

The following officers were appointed for 2017:

  • Life President – Mick Spain
  • President – Fr. Moorhead
  • Vice Presidents – Billy Gath, Peadar Lyons & Francis O’Brien
  • Chairman – Toni Ryan
  • Vice Chairman – Declan Murray
  • Secretary – Dermot Horan
  • Assistant Secretary – Joseph Mannion
  • Treasurer – Peter Lyons
  • Assistant Treasurer – Kathleen O’Brien
  • P.R.O. – Joe O; Brien
  • Assistant P.R.O. – Peter Darcy

It was proposed and seconded that the incoming committee would appoint a coaching officer.

The three man committee set up to organise adult team managements reported on progress to the meeting and a discussion followed where it was open to the floor and members offered their hopes and opinions. It was agreed that no decision would be made on the night.

The Meeting ended with a prayer.

Club Officers

Life President: Mick Spain
President: Fr. John Moorehead
Vice President: Billy Gath
Vice President: Peadar Lyons
Vice President: Francis O’ Brien
Chairman: Toni Ryan
Secretary: Demot Horan
Vice Chairman: Declan Murray
Treasurer: Peter Lyons
Assistant Treasurer: Katleen O’Brien
PRO: Joe O’ Brien
Assistant PRO: Peter Darcy
Club Development Officer: Peadar Nugent
Registrar: Eoin Lyons
County Board Delegate: Peter Lyons
School Liaison Officer: Joe O’ Brien
Joint Club Coaching Officer: Martin Ryan
Joint Club Coaching Officer: Malcom Spain
Child protection Officer: Malcom Spain
Committee Members:
Liam Guinan
Mike Connolly
Paul Mannion
Marty Ryan
Ray Quegan
Fergal Dooley
Gareth O’Brien

Field Committee

Toni Ryan
Dermot Horan
Peter Lyons
Peadar Nugent
Liam Guinan
Joe O’Brien
Tom Corcoran
Peter Darcy
Declan Murray
Luke Spain
Mike Connolly
Martin Ryan
Fergal Dooley
Michael Spain
Eoin Lyons
Marty Ryan
Paul Mannion
Ray Quegan
Christy Mooney
Gareth O’Brien